Minutes of Feb. 16, 2023

February 16, 2022, 6:00 p.m.
NEXT MEETING FEBRUARY 28, 2022, 6:00 p.m.
We will meet at 6pm at Ruben’s Fiesta Restaurant, located at 23 Kg Lane,
Mountain Home, AR 72653. Please arrive by 5:30 if you plan to eat. Ruben’s will
be providing a fajita buffet in the range of $10-15.

  1. Call to order
  2. Invocation
  3. Pledge of Allegiance
  4. Roll Call
  5. Minutes of the November Meeting
  6. Introduction of guests
  7. Treasurer– Sid Williams -Previous Treasurer- Ed Toscano
  8. TLRW-Mary Glotzl
  9. BCRMC- To Be Announced
  10. Election Commission #1- Lynne Weaver, Previous -Judy Garner
  11. Election Commission #2- Bill Andres, Previous- Gary Smith
  12. Quorum Court- Roger Steele
  13. 1
    st District Comm: Dennis Chafa and Meghan Cauthorn
  14. Communication and Audit Committee: Tony Chamberlain
  15. Chairman: Chris Chamberlin, Previous Rick Peglar
    The Baxter County Republican Committee met for its 2023 BCRC Election of Officers and
    Election Commissioners with approximately 91 members, including the 89 voting members, and
    also there were 18 Guests. Chairman Rick Peglar called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and
    followed with the Prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.
    A moment of silence was given to Edna Fusco. Please also remember Mary Goodman, and Jim
    Minutes of the BCRC meeting on November 29, 2022 were approved as submitted and
    distributed in the Trunkline.
    Please always sign the Roll Call Sheet for Members or the Sheet for Guests when you come
    into the meeting.
    Guests at today’s meeting are: Joey Peglar and his son Jackson Peglar, Sarah Dunklin, Tim Reid,
    Theresa Reid, Timmy Reid, Julie Raines, Chris Eubank, Karon Lange, Darlene McKay, Page Wolfe,
    Carole McMillen, Brian Jamieson, Jay Sabella, Robin T. Washington, Lori Cheney, Michelle
    Graetz, and Chris Fulton.
    Tim Reid, Searcy County, announced he is running for one of the State Representatives
    positions for the State Committee for District 1.
    Michelle Graetz, Izard County, announced she is running for District 1 Treasurer.
    Randy Sandland announced he is running for 1st District Vice Chair.
    Please remember that if any member of the committee misses 3 (three) meetings in a row,
    those members are not eligible to vote in any meeting until they go to 2 (two) meetings in a
    row. And then, at that second meeting they will be able to vote. If you are worried about
    missing the third meeting, then you should send a proxy.
    Also, if you don’t sign in, you may not be eligible to vote.
    BCRC Treasurer Report: Ed Toscano reported the balance as of the last of the 2022 year was
    TLRW: Mary Glotzl announced the TLRW have a new place to meet. They will be meeting at the
    Elks Club in Mountain Home the 3rd Thursday of every month, 11:30 lunch, 12:00 noon meeting.
    All who are interested, please come.
    BCRM: To be announced.
    Election Commission: Judy Garner announced not much going on right now, however we are
    gearing up for School elections.
    BCQC: Roger Steele- QC meets the 1st Tuesday of every month at the BC Courthouse. Next
    meeting is 6 p.m. December 6, 2022. Everyone is invited to come. Roger related that at the last
    meeting the Quorum Court voted a resolution against the transfer of ownership of the landfill.
    More discussion to come at future meetings.
    1st Congressional District: Dennis Chafa reported the 1st Congressional District next meeting is
    coming up in March and he will try to get out the information as soon as he gets it. Wants all to
    know that there will be opportunities for everyone to get on our BCRC committees here in
    Baxter County. Please everyone step-up, get involved, and help with the committees.
    Communications Committee: Tony Chamberlain. The Web Page is up and running under
    Baxtergop.com. Please check it out. Thanks to all who worked on getting this up and running.
    Audit Committee: Tony Chamberlain announced that the audit was completed by a gentleman
    that has many years of experience in accounting and auditing, and that the audit was submitted
    and approved.
    State Committee Winter meeting in December: Chris Chamberlin and Sharon Kaster, went to
    the State Committee Meeting and Cody Highland was voted in as State Chairman and Nelda
    Speaks was voted in as Treasurer.
    Congrats to New members unanimously voted in 2/16/2023:
    Troy Austin Herman “Hap” Myers
    Tom DePew Kathryn Grace
    Kristine Mihalic Melinda Wright
    John Wright
    Nominated Members to be…Please be sure you show next meeting February 28, 2023 to be
    voted in. You will not be able to vote if you are not a committee member.
    Nickey West Carole Mc Millen
    Lori Cheney Julie Raines
    James (Jay) Sabella
    We hope all of the above people are at our February 28, 2023 meeting. All who are present will
    be voted in as members of the committee. They must have completed the paperwork, paid the
    filing fee, and be present at this meeting. If some miss this meeting they can be voted in at a
    subsequent meeting if all other conditions are met.
    Chairman Peglar discussed the election of officers for this meeting. The offices to be voted on
    were Chairman, 1st Vice Chair, 2nd Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and 2 Election
    Commissioners. Vice Chairs must be one female and one male. It was announced that this was a
    Secret Ballot and vote counts would be announced. Envelopes were handed out to all voters
    with ballots for each position inside. Bob Lowery and Dennis Chafa were vote counters and
    Vote Watchers were welcomed for each candidate. Don Nelson was acting sergeant in arms to
    keep people from drifting in and out during the counting. After the office position was
    announced, Dennis Frank went around and passed a box for each voter to put their ballot in.
    After the votes were counted and the numbers were taken to Chairman Peglar to announce the
    winners and vote Counts. 101 envelopes were prepared for 101 voters. Only 88 voters were
    Thanks to all who have helped build this Committee, whether in the past, present or future.
    Voting Count Results were as follows:
    Election Commissioner Number 1: Judy Garner- 23
    Lynne Weaver- 65
    Winner: Lynne Weaver
    Election Commissioner Number 2: Gary Smith- 17
    William (Bill) Andres- 71
    Winner: William (Bill) Andres
    Chairman: Rick Peglar: 22
    Chris Chamberlin: 66
    Winner: Chris Chamberlin
    First Vice Chair: Mary Ellen Anderson: Accepted nomination and
    was accepted by acclimation.
    Is Winner
    Second Vice Chair: Tony Chamberlain: 78
    Benjamin Luelf: 11
    Winner: Tony Chamberlain
    Secretary: Joe Bryant: Accepted nomination and
    was accepted by acclimation.
    Is Winner
    Treasurer: Sidney C. Williams: Accepted nomination and
    was accepted by acclimation.
    Is Winner
    New Business: Please note: Elections for District One Committee Vacancies are February 28,
    2023, at the meeting. The District 1 Meeting is March 18, 2023. Please see the flyer attached
    Meeting Adjourned around 7:30 p.m.
    Respectfully Submitted,
    Joe Bryant- Previous Jan Lowery
    BCRC Secretary
    Please if you or anyone you know is NOT getting the trunk line, let Joe Bryant know by calling
    him at 870-488-5573 and/or emailing him at yerdaddy_99@yahoo.c

Leave a Comment